You driving under influence (DUI, for its acronym in English) refer to the act of driving while impaired, either by drugs or alcohol. In New Jersey, it is unlawful for any person to drive while intoxicated. A DUI conviction can result in fines, jail time, and community service and license suspension.
The concentration of blood alcohol (BAC, for its acronym in English) is the measurement of blood alcohol. The BAC affects brain function and physical movement. A person driving a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08 percent or more is guilty of driving under influence in New Jersey.
A first time DUI offenders with a BAC of at least 0.08 percent, but not more than 0.10 percent is subject to a fine of US $ 250 to US $ 400 (as of 2010), license suspension for three months, up to 30 days in jail and up to 48 hours Resource Center for Intoxicated Drivers (IRDC, for its acronym in English). Other penalties include $ 100 to go towards a fund for drunk drivers, one IRDC fee of US $ 280 and US $ 1,000 fee to pay each year for three years to the Motor Vehicle Commission New Jersey.
A second offense within 10 years of the first offense can result in a fine of US $ 500 to US $ 1,000, suspension of license for two years, from 48 hours to 90 days in jail and sentenced to community service 30 days. A third offense occurs within 10 years of the second offense may result in a fine of US $ 1,000, suspension of license for 10 years, 180 days in jail and 90 days of community service, which can reduce length of imprisonment.